The citadel buildings represented an outstanding example of a new style of Southeast Asian imperial cities. The citadel's grounds include the Hoang Nguyen, Dien Tho and Dong Cung palaces, which were linked by roads paved with stone. The citadel itself includes buildings such as the Dan Nam Giao (a platform used for offerings to the heavens), Dong Mon communal house and Tam Tong temple among other structures. However, after several centuries, almost all of the citadel's main structures have been seriously damaged, while the wall and four main entrances are still well preserved. The Opening Week for the National Tourism Year-Thanh Hoa 2015 is taking place in Thanh Hoa from April 3 to 10, and marked by 10 events, which include a requiem for war martyrs; the 50th anniversary of the Ham Rong Victory; the announcement for the Ma River tour; and the Festival of the Intangible Cultural Heritage of Vietnam recognised by UNESCO, have been planned.
Nearly 1000 artists from some art troupes in domestic and international countries brought the opening ceremony of the National Tourism Year with some art performing program of heritage.
Sme archaeologists have unearthed the Hoang Gia (Royal) road (also known as Hoe Nhai road) at the southern gate of the citadel with a unique structure. So far, Hoang Gia road has existed intact with a length of about 2km. In addition, the discovery and research of ancient stone exploitation work in An Ton Mountain in Vinh Yen commune and Xuan Dai Mountain in Vinh Ninh commune have special importance in clarifying doubts of the origin of the materials exploited and used to build the Ho citadel.